You're viewing our website for international visitors, but it looks like you're in the world. Switch to the world.
Tutor profile white background clipping mask Tutor Profile Picture

Gemma N

Tutor in Beacon Bay North, East London • 26 years old

Background Check
chip background star 4.8
chip background 369
chip background star 4.8
chip background 369
Cannot tutor online
Can tutor in person


I love working with people and helping out in any way I can. I have recently graduated from UCT where I studied a BSc in ecology and biology.

I am patient and understanding. I know that everyone grasps concepts in their own way and at their own pace, so from my side, consideration and patience is key to your success. I have had holiday club, baby sitting and informal tutoring experience which have all taught me how to effectively communicate with different people.


• Matriculated from Clarendon High School for Girls in 2015 with 7 Distinctions
• 2015-2019: B.Sc Ecology and Evolution and Applied Biology at UCT

My Proudest

• Eastern Cape Matric of the year finalist in 2015.
• Provincial and National squash placing throughout high school.
• Completion of Grade 8 Royal Schools music examination in both flute and recorder
• Honours award for academics and colours Award for squash and music in high school.


  • School Tutoring


Grade 1 - Grade 12

I love Algebra and almost all aspects of Mathematics. Finished a first-year Mathematics course.

Physical Science

Grade 1 - Grade 12

I matriculated with 81% for the subject. I also completed a first-year Physics course and have an interest in the forces aspect of Physics.


Grade 1 - Grade 12

I completed a first-year Chemistry course. I am comfortable with all practical and theory aspects of Chemistry.

Life Sciences (Biology)

Grade 1 - Grade 12

I thoroughly enjoyed Biology and completed a first-year Biology course. I currently study a second year biology course focusing on plants and animals. I am familiar with genetics and DNA and read up on Biology reports and research consistently.

Music Theory

Grade 1 - Grade 12

I have completed the Royal Schools Music Exam at Grade 8 level for flute and recorder.


Grade 1 - Grade 7

I achieved distinctions for English throughout my primary and high school career and I feel confident in teaching the fundamentals of the English language covered in primary school. I am currently writing up my MSc thesis, which develops my English writing skills on a daily basis.

  • Music Tutoring


Beginner (Grades 1 - 3) - Advanced (Grades 7 - 8)

I absolutely love music, especially music theory. I would love to give flute lessons and tutor in music theory. I've been playing music since the age of 6. I've played in many concerts, music Eidsteddfods and music exams.


Gemma will travel up to 10km from Beacon Bay North, East London, Eastern Cape to you.

Approximate location and area of coverage.

Tutor Map

Reviews from others

“Gemma has taught Julia for a while now and really given her confidence in this difficult subject. She also managed to adapt to teaching Julia via electronic means without a hitch. Thanks Gemma”


“Gemma has been a good tutor she is very patient and will explain repeatedly until Hannah understands.”


“Tutoring very helpfull Peter-Lee very in to it and participate more as usual. He had to work on time management and analyze questions before answering and revising. Very happy with Gemma”


Curly haired mother searching on her laptop and struggling to find tutors online

Looking for a tutor near you?

We know our tutors – we can search for you!

Click “Get a tutor” and we'll send matching tutors straight to your inbox. Plus only 40% of our tutor profiles are public – don't miss out on the other 60%