You're viewing our website for international visitors, but it looks like you're in the world. Switch to the world.
Tutor profile white background clipping mask Tutor Profile Picture

Shani F

Tutor in Rondebosch, Cape Town • 24 years old

Background Check
chip background star 4.9
8 RATINGS
chip background 321
HOURS TUTORED
chip background star 4.9
8 RATINGS
chip background 321
HOURS TUTORED
Can tutor online
Can tutor in person

Bio

I'm a dedicated, focused postgraduate student with a passion to inspire people to discover a love for learning. I enjoy conversing with people and learning from them.

I break a study component up into smaller pieces that one can easily digest. Once you've created a concrete understanding of the core concept, the rest of the study component naturally builds itself around it. I strive for each student to find their optimum style to study and understand, and from there onwards we can lay the foundation for your future study method in any field!

Education

• 2023: Masters in Marine microbial ecology (UCT)
• 2022: BSc Honours in Marine biology (UCT)
• 2019 - 2021: BSc in Genetics and Zoology (University of Pretoria)
• 2013 - 2018: NSC Matriculate certificate

My Proudest
Achievements

• My proudest achievement was graduating with a BSc degree in Genetics and Zoology and finishing my Honours in Marine Biology.
• I'm proud to be a Golden Key Member.

Subjects

  • School Tutoring

Mathematics

Grade 1 - Grade 11

I've found that a lot of students struggle with Maths because they missed one concept. In large class settings, it can be quite daunting to keep up and ask questions, I want to make sure students can understand Maths and be confident in their work. I'm patient and use different styles of teaching.

Life Sciences (Biology)

Grade 1 - Grade 12

My field of study is in Biology and I am passionate about it! Biology can seem scary simply due to the amount of information one needs to get through in a year. I'd like to teach you Biology in a way that makes the work easy to remember so that you can excel in Biology and have fun! Become a genius!

Geography

Grade 1 - Grade 12

Geography is a neat field of study. It entails so many different aspects that can't fit into the year syllabus. I like to approach the concepts in a way that ensures long term memory and becomes second nature to understand. Different learning styles can be used and I encourage you to do your best!

English

Grade 1 - Grade 12

Learning English as a first or second language can sometimes be a daunting task. I found that the more one reads, converses and watches movies in English, the better one speaks it. You broaden your knowledge that way, and by joining up in study groups, it can be quite fun to learn English.

Physical Science

Grade 1 - Grade 12

I like to connect difficult concepts into simpler ideas to create a concrete understanding in order to critically think about different problems that can appear in exams. I feel that once you have the correct tools you can tackle any sort of question. I support the learner's study methods too.

Natural Science

Grade 1 - Grade 12

I achieved a distinction in both Life Sciences and Physical Science in Matric. I support each learner's study methods when tutoring to ensure they understand the fundamentals.

  • University Tutoring

Genetics

First Year - Third Year

I have a BSc in Genetics, my favourite field in Science! This field is an intricate network and quite easy to understand if someone takes the time to break it up into smaller sections and then look back at the big picture. I find Genetics to be closely linked to Maths as you use logical thinking.

Microbiology

First Year - Second Year

I am prepared to go the extra mile to ensure that you master Microbiology. Get ready to explore the microbial world and fall in love with it!

Biochemistry

First Year - Second Year

I am a great Biochemistry tutor as I explain complex concepts in a simple manner. You can master proteins and lipids and all their associated biological processes by following the tips I provide.

Physics

First Year

I am a great Physics tutor because I observe the student's understanding of the work and use that as a foundation to help them master all the concepts. I like to have steps to follow when solving any problem, just like a recipe you can use to answer all questions!

  • Language Tutoring

English

Beginner

I completed my BSc Genetics degree in English. English is a difficult language to learn but not impossible. I find that by having English as an additional language, one can improve by reading, conversing, and watching movies in English. Broaden your vocabulary by one word a day.

Location

Shani will travel up to 10km from Rondebosch, Cape Town, Western Cape to you.

Approximate location and area of coverage.

Tutor Map

Reviews from others

“Shani goes out of her way to prepare notes for our lessons & answers all of questions in a clear and detailed manner. She is very friendly & I enjoy our lessons. Receiving tuition has helped me find enjoyment in this challenging module and I no longer feel terrified of it ”

Zahraa

“Nashmia is a very independent learner however with the assistance shani has provided for the past year nashmia is comfortable and always seems positive about the way Shani conveys the method of steps that need to be taken in mathematics. ”

Firzana

“Amber and Shani are a good fit, as student and tutor. Shani’s teaching skills are top tier. She explains problems very well.”

Brunhilda

“Bree is learning lots from her and we appreciate her feedback.”

Alan

Curly haired mother searching on her laptop and struggling to find tutors online

Looking for a tutor near you?

We know our tutors – we can search for you!

Click “Get a tutor” and we'll send matching tutors straight to your inbox. Plus only 40% of our tutor profiles are public – don't miss out on the other 60%

GET A TUTOR