You're viewing our website for South Africa, but it looks like you're in South Africa. Switch to South Africa.
Tutor profile white background clipping mask Tutor Profile Picture

Lana-mari V

Tutor in Johannesburg, Johannesburg • 24 years old

Background Check
chip background star 5.0
14 RATINGS
chip background 453
HOURS TUTORED
chip background star 5.0
14 RATINGS
chip background 453
HOURS TUTORED
Can tutor online
Can tutor in person

Bio

I am a passionate person who loves helping others and making a difference where I am called to do so. I enjoy learning new things and applying and sharing the knowledge that I have gained.

I am a very patient and kind person and I also understand the value that lies within helping others. I know that the first step in leadership is service and I believe that helping one another is the way to a better world. Teaching is a great way to empower others to go out in the world and make their mark.

Education

• 2017-2019: BSc. Biochemistry (University of Pretoria)
• 2018: French level B2 (Alliance Francaise)
• 2018: Advanced first-year French (UP)
• 2020-present: MBBCh (University of the Witwatersrand)

My Proudest
Achievements

• Passing Violin Grade 8 with a distinction
• Obtaining my French level B2
• Getting into Medicine at Wits University

Subjects

  • School Tutoring

French

Grade 1 - Grade 12

I have been taking French since high school and continued with it at university as an extra subject. I enjoy languages and believe it to be the key that opens the door to opportunity.

Mathematics

Grade 1 - Grade 10

Mathematics is the foundation of the Biochemistry degree I am currently doing (I did first-year mathematics). I know where Mathematics is often misunderstood and can thus guide a student to better understand these concepts.

Afrikaans

Grade 1 - Grade 11

Afrikaans is my mother tongue and I have always excelled in it at school. I often write poetry in Afrikaans and I have a good understanding of how the language and literary text works.

English

Grade 1 - Grade 6

I achieved a really good result in this subject in high school. I would love to share my knowledge with the next student. I am also a member of Golden Key which is the top 15% of my faculty at university level.

  • University Tutoring

Physiology

First Year - Second Year

I have a passion for human Physiology and have excelled in it at university. I have always read up on the human body and love exploring physiological concepts.

Genetics

First Year - Second Year

Genetic principles are very important and I enjoyed learning it and applying it throughout my degree. Helping students to understand these principles would be an honor.

  • Music Tutoring

Violin

Beginner (Grades 1 - 3)

I have been playing the Violin since I was four years old. I have played in various orchestras as well as playing solo performances and at functions. I have my grade 6 Music Theory degree and I obtained a distinction for my grade 8 Violin exam.

Location

Lana-mari will travel up to 5km from Johannesburg, Johannesburg, Gauteng to you.

Approximate location and area of coverage.

Tutor Map
Curly haired mother searching on her laptop and struggling to find tutors online

Looking for a tutor near you?

We know our tutors – we can search for you!

Click “Get a tutor” and we'll send matching tutors straight to your inbox. Plus only 40% of our tutor profiles are public – don't miss out on the other 60%

GET A TUTOR