You're viewing our website for international visitors, but it looks like you're in the world. Switch to the world.
Tutor profile white background clipping mask Tutor Profile Picture

Jason L

Tutor in Claremont, Cape Town • 27 years old

Background Check
chip background star 5.0
12 RATINGS
chip background 766
HOURS TUTORED
chip background star 5.0
12 RATINGS
chip background 766
HOURS TUTORED
Can tutor online
Can tutor in person

Bio

I am currently a masters student at university. I have extensive experience in tutoring both high school and university subjects and am extremely hardworking and efficient.

I have large amounts of experience in this. At the university level, I was a tutor in university subjects and occasionally a high school subject. This experience has helped me to teach difficult topics in a succinct and efficient way that helps the individual that I am teaching. Finally, I am a friendly person who enjoys tutoring.

Education

• 2015 - 2019: BSocSci (Psychology and Sociology) - University of Cape Town
• 2021 - 2021: BSocSci Honours (Sociology) - University of Pretoria
• 2022 - Present: MSocSci (Sociology) - University of Pretoria

My Proudest
Achievements

• Received a scholarship for postgraduate study
• Top student in my honours class.
• Published two articles for online newspapers

Subjects

  • School Tutoring

Life Sciences (Biology)

Grade 1 - Grade 12

Life Science was my favourite subject at high school and therefore I worked very hard at it and achieved great results. In addition to this, I have added a large amount of experience of this subject due to university courses I have completed.

Business Studies

Grade 1 - Grade 12

I excelled in business studies throughout high school. In addition to this, it was one of my favourite subjects and I placed large amounts of effort into it which translated into fantastic results.

Mathematics Literacy

Grade 1 - Grade 12

Throughout high school, I did extremely well in this subject. in particular, matric was the year I achieved the highest mark. In addition to this, I have studied quantitative literacy further at university, furthering my experience.

English

Grade 1 - Grade 12

Throughout high school, English was always a subject that I valued and enjoyed greatly. At the University level, I completed two years of English Language and Literature, expanding my knowledge and enjoyment of the subject.

Afrikaans

Grade 1 - Grade 12

Throughout high school, I performed really well in Afrikaans. In addition to this. Afrikaans is my second language and can speak it fluently.

Homework

Grade 1 - Grade 12

I will be able to help with homework for any of my advertised subjects. Particularly, helping to explain concepts and ensure that all the work is complete.

  • University Tutoring

Sociology

First Year - Postgrad

I am currently completing a masters degree in sociology with a particular emphasis on populism in South Africa. I completed honours in 2021 with a 79% average.

Research Methodology

First Year - Postgrad

I have taken research methodology courses in both undergraduate and postgraduate (consisting of psychometrics, qualitative research, quantitative research and statistics) and have achieved very high marks at both these levels.

Psychology

First Year - Third Year

I performed very well in both the listed courses. In addition to this, these psych courses were some of my favourite courses in undergrad and I placed a large amount of effort into them.

Location

Jason will travel up to 5km from Claremont, Cape Town, Western Cape to you.

Approximate location and area of coverage.

Tutor Map

Reviews from others

“Patient, kind and attentive to Thuli's pace and learning needs. An excellent tutor! Thank you so much Jason! We'll update you on her results! :-) ”

Storme

“Jason has developed an excellent rapport with Alec, which is useful in terms of Alec trusting him and enjoying their lessons. I can see an objective progress in Alec's work and motivation. Jason is good communicator, keeps his attention on progress, keeps me informed, and also communicates with The Academy. Since Alec has Jason as a tutor, his productivity has increased by probably 200% :) :) I haven't met Jason yet personally and I haven't observed their lessons, but I have spoken to him and, generally, this has been an extremely positive and productive experience. Thank you all.”

Nada

“Jason is very patient with Tshepo, and the feedback I got from Tshepo is that he is able to explain topics in a way that he can easily understand. ”

Mohlomi

“Jason seems to relate very well to Finley and is always very encouraging and accommodating.”

Marisa

“Jason helps me very much because he explains the content in a way that I understand.”

Samantha

Curly haired mother searching on her laptop and struggling to find tutors online

Looking for a tutor near you?

We know our tutors – we can search for you!

Click “Get a tutor” and we'll send matching tutors straight to your inbox. Plus only 40% of our tutor profiles are public – don't miss out on the other 60%

GET A TUTOR