You're viewing our website for international visitors, but it looks like you're in the world. Switch to the world.
Tutor profile white background clipping mask Tutor Profile Picture

Shannon H

Tutor in Walmer, Gqeberha • 24 years old

Background Check
chip background star 4.8
chip background 112
chip background star 4.8
chip background 112
Can tutor online
Can tutor in person


I am an undergrad student at the University of Cape Town, with a passion for the outdoors and a love of music. I have a naturally bubbly personality and I live by the mantra of "life-long learning".

I have tutored students since Grade 8 and nothing gives me more satisfaction than that moment when the concept clicks in a student's mind! I am patient and my experience working as an au pair for 2 years has taught me many creative teaching skills to make schoolwork appealing to kids. I take pride in my work and I have a very strong work ethic.


• 2019 - 2020: Worked as an au pair in New Jersey, USA
• I have my TEFL Level 5 certificate
• 2020- Current: Undergraduate Studies at the University of Cape Town, BSocSci Politics, Philosophy and Economics.

My Proudest

• I played in the South African National Youth Orchestra for 4 years. I also achieved 7 Distinctions in Matric. I have hiked all over South Africa- my biggest hiking achievement was hiking the 5-day Whale Trail on the West Coast.


  • School Tutoring


Grade 1 - Grade 12

I achieved 1st place in English throughout High School. I competed in national creative writing and debating competitions and I was placed 2nd in the National SACCEE Language challenge. I also have my TEFL Level 5 certificate.

Life Orientation

Grade 1 - Grade 12

LO can be a very interesting subject if one can apply the skills that are taught, in real life. I always enjoyed LO and achieved top marks throughout high school for the subject.


Grade 1 - Grade 12

History was my favourite subject in high school and I have maintained by keen interest for South African and natural history after school. I have a special talent for essay writing, and I often achieved 100% for my essays in high school.


Grade 1 - Grade 5

I have a lot of experience teaching Primary School Maths. I enjoy making Maths fun, through the use of colour, flashcards and inventive number games. I passed Maths 1 in University with Distinction.

Life Sciences (Biology)

Grade 1 - Grade 9

Life Sciences is most definitely a passion of mine. I enjoy relating the syllabus to real-life and I encourage students to notice the Life Science all around them. I use diagrams, flow-charts and colour to make Life Science "come-alive".

Music Theory

Grade 1 - Grade 12

Music is my greatest passion- I play three instruments.I really enjoy music history and theory because it opens a whole world to you once you know the theory and historical relevance behind a piece of music.


Grade 1 - Grade 9

I am fluent in Afrikaans and I am able to teach the subject in a fun, but methodical way, to improve the learner's spoken and written skills. I have tutored Afrikaans with Foundation Phase learners in the past.

Natural Science

Grade 1 - Grade 9

Natural science is a passion of mine. I took Life Science until Matric and I excelled in this subject. I have a keen interest in the outdoors and nature, and I am able to relate the theory of the subject to examples in the South African context.

Social Science

Grade 1 - Grade 9

History and Geography have been two of my favourite interests throughout my life. My knowledge of international and South African history and my interest in the outdoors, allows me to relate the theory of these subjects to real-life examples.


Grade 1 - Grade 12

Being an au pair and tutor for many students through the years has made me a professional homework-helper! I enjoy helping students to get things done and to get them to organise their work themselves.

  • Music Tutoring

Tenor Saxophone

Beginner (Grades 1 - 3) - Intermediate (Grades 4 - 6)

I have my Advanced Certificate (with Distinction) in tenor sax. I have competed in numerous national competitions and played in the SA National Youth Orchestra from 2015-2018. I have strong theory skills too,and I achieved 90 % for music in Year 12.

  • University Tutoring


First Year - Third Year

I have completed my undergrad at UCT in Politics, Philosophy and Economics, achieving an 80% GPA and 85% across my Economics subjects. I have taken my aptitude for Economics and my passion for the field into my Honours studies. My specialities include Environmental Economics and Microeconomics.

  • Language Tutoring


Beginner - Advanced

I am a certified TEFL tutor and I have taught many learners, from a variety of backgrounds, speaking, written and comprehension skills in English.


Shannon will travel up to 5km from Walmer, Gqeberha, Eastern Cape to you.

Approximate location and area of coverage.

Tutor Map

Reviews from others

“Shannon remains calm, patient and constructive in a complex situation where it can sometimes feel as if one's best efforts are not having an impact. ”


Curly haired mother searching on her laptop and struggling to find tutors online

Looking for a tutor near you?

We know our tutors – we can search for you!

Click “Get a tutor” and we'll send matching tutors straight to your inbox. Plus only 40% of our tutor profiles are public – don't miss out on the other 60%